This Week in New York Insider's Guide to Arts & Culture in New York City Since 2001




Martha Graham’s Chronicle is part of “The EVE Project” at the Joyce

The Joyce Theater
175 Eighth Ave. at 19th St.
April 2-14, $10-$60

Martha Graham Dance Company honors the centennial of the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment with “The EVE Project,” running April 2-14 at the Joyce. The season consists of three programs that celebrate female empowerment. Program A features Graham’s seldom-performed 1962 Secular Games, her 1944 Herodiade, the world premiere of Maxine Doyle and Bobbi Jene Smith’s Deo, and Annie-B Parson’s I used to love you. Program B includes the men’s section of Secular Games, the New York premiere of Pam Tanowitz’s Untitled (Souvenir), Graham’s 1936 Chronicle and 1941 El Penitente, and Lucinda Childs’s duet Histoire. Program C comprises Deo, Untitled (Souvenir), Chronicle, and Graham’s 1947 Errand into the Maze. “Martha Graham revolutionized the way women are represented onstage. Choreographing the mind and reconfiguring iconic characters, she conjured complex, powerful women acting both inside and outside of society’s expectations,” artistic director Janet Eilber said in a statement. “We hope that ‘The EVE Project’ will offer diverse and evocative ways of considering female power.”

On April 6 at 2:00, the annual University Partners Showcase presents university and high school dancers performing Graham’s Panorama, Celebration, Chronicle, and excerpts from The Rite of Spring and Appalachian Spring. A portion of the admissions for the Pink Ribbon Program on April 6 will go to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation. On April 9, the Gala Program lineup features Errand into the Maze, an excerpt from Deo, Graham’s 1948 Diversion of Angels, and Graham’s 1933/2017 Ekstasis, with special guest Sara Mearns. There will be a Curtain Chat at the April 10 show. And Women’s Leadership Night on April 13 includes Errand, Untitled (Souvenir), Chronicle, and the talkback “Women CEOs Speak.” The members of the company, which was founded in 1926, are So Young An, Alyssa Cebulski, PeiJu Chien-Pott, Alessio Crognale, Laurel Dalley Smith, Natasha M. Diamond-Walker, Lloyd Knight, Charlotte Landreau, Jacob Larsen, Lloyd Mayor, Cara McManus, Marzia Memoli, Anne O’Donnell, Lorenzo Pagano, Ben Schultz, Anne Souder, Leslie Andrea Williams, and Xin Ying.

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

No trackbacks yet.