This Week in New York Insider's Guide to Arts & Culture in New York City Since 2001



Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers released its first seven studio albums in less than eleven years, including such classics as You’re Gonna Get It, Damn the Torpedoes, and Hard Promises. It took more than twice as long for their next seven studio records to come out, beginning with the great Into the Great Wide Open in 1991 through their latest, Hypnotic Eye, due July 29 from Reprise. The album, said to evoke the early years of the band, features eleven tracks, including “American Dream Plan B,” “Red River,” “Shadow People,” “Faultlines,” and “Burn Out Town.” (The double-LP version has a bonus track.) Petty and the Heartbreakers, who have consistently put on among the best live shows going back now some forty years, will tour behind the disc, kicking things off in San Diego on August 3 and heading our way for a September 10 show at the Garden. Steve Winwood will again open; the two are likely to play a few tunes together, as they have in the past. The Heartbreakers currently consist of the amazing Mike Campbell on guitar, Benmont Tench on keyboards, Ron Blair on bass, Steve Ferrone on drums, and Scott Thurston on guitar, keyboards, and harmonica. Tickets go on sale to the general public on May 31 at 10:00 am and come with a copy of Hypnotic Eye; members of various fan clubs can start buying tickets now. Petty once declared, “Let me up; I’ve had enough.” Clearly, he hasn’t, and neither have we.

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

No trackbacks yet.